Ranking the top 5 T20 leagues in the world

Ranking the top 5 T20 leagues in the world

T20 leagues are the talk of the town, at present. Almost every country has their own league and players are always willing to participate in them. The trend of T20 leagues started with England's T20 blast and it was followed by India's IPL and Australia's BBL. Soon after, CPL (West Indies), APL (Afghanistan), BPL (Bangladesh) and PSL (Pakistan) started.

The Mzansi Super League is the latest league and is South Africa's very own. Every league has superstars and the main incentive of playing in T20 leagues is the money that is there. Players are bought for insanely high prices and nowadays, players are preferring leagues over their countries. The Caribbean players are mainly following this trend and it is natural because they are paid a lot of money.

T20 leagues generate a lot of revenue and attract a lot of fans. If one conducts a survey about the most popular and liked format, it is very obvious that the answer will be T20. In fact, there is a league every month of the year. While PSL, BBL, and BPL dominate till March, IPL takes over till May. After that, it is the Vitality T20 Blast and the CPL. After the CPL, we witness APL, Mzansi Super League, and UAE T20X.

There a lot of the T20 leagues in the world and we shall rank the top 5 leagues in the world.

#5 Vitality T20 Blast

England's very own, this league has produced great cricketing action over the past decade. Although it isn't a franchise T20 league, the quality of cricket exhibited is great and that is what propels it ahead of the Bangladesh Premier League. In fact, it is more of a domestic competition rather than a full-fledged T20 league.

As many as 18 teams participate, and the league is divided into 2 divisions- North and South. Each division has 9 teams and each team plays 14 games. Each team plays 6 teams twice and the other 2, one a piece. After this, the top 4 teams qualify for the quarter-final. This year, the Vitality Blast started on the 4th of July and ended on 15th September.

Worcestershire Rapids defeated Sussex Sharks in the final to win the tournament. Leicestershire Foxes has won the competition a record 3 times in 16 seasons. A lot of overseas stars plied their trade this season with a few of them being, Aaron Finch, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb ur Rahman, and Dwayne Bravo.

It is a great league and only if it can attract more foreigners and ensure the participation of England stars more regularly, it can climb up the list.

#4 Caribbean Premier League

Trinbago Knight Riders v Guyana Amazon Warriors - 2018 Hero Caribbean Premier League Tournament Final
Trinbago Knight Riders v Guyana Amazon Warriors - 2018 Hero Caribbean Premier League Tournament Final

Perhaps the most colorful league in the world, CPL is an exciting league and is carried by the style and swag of the West Indies' players. The league has a couple of rules that are unique to it, with one of them being, a coin toss to decide who will bat first in a super over. This is in contrary to the actual rule, which states that the team batting second will bat first in the super over.

The other rule is that the net run rate of a team can take a hit for maintaining a slow over-rate, while bowling. There are 6 teams in the league and the top 2 play in Qualifier 1 whereas, 3rd and 4th placed teams will play in the Eliminator. The Winner of Q1 will progress to the Final and the loser to Q2, where they will play the winner of the Eliminator. The winner of this game will progress to the Final and the winner is crowned as the champion.

This season, the Trinbago Knight Riders triumphed over the Guyana Amazon Warriors, who finished runners-up. TKR is most successful team with 3 titles in just 6 editions. Overseas stars such as Steve Smith, David Warner and Colin Munro play in the league, along with local stars, including Chris Gayle, Andre Russell and Dwayne Bravo.

#3 Pakistan Super League

Islamabad United has won the PSL twice
Islamabad United has won the PSL twice

Pakistan Super League has quickly surged its way to become one of the most attractive leagues in the world. Just 3 editions old, PSL has already seen a lot of great cricketing action. There are 6 teams and it uses the same format as the CPL. A large part of the league takes place in UAE and only 2-3 matches are held in Pakistan.

Last season, Islamabad United won the title for the 2nd time in 3 seasons. Peshawar Zalmi finished the season as runners-up. The draft for the next edition will take place on 20th November and a lot of stars such as AB De Villiers, Steve Smith, and Alex Hales will be a part of it. This just shows the increase in popularity of the league.

Even last season, overseas superstars like Brendon McCullum, Jason Roy and Rashid Khan took part in the tournament and it could move higher in the year's to come by.

#2 Big Bash League

BBL Final - Strikers v Hurricanes
BBL Final - Strikers v Hurricanes

Similar to the T20 Blast, the number of overseas stars in the league isn't a lot but the cricketing quality wins it the second spot. CPL and PSL have the better players but the matches and the intensity displayed in the BBL is brilliant. It is runs-galore in the Australian league and matches are as interesting as they can get.

It is often used as a platform where inexperienced and young foreigners can play well and earn an IPL contract. Prime examples of such players are D'arcy Short and Jofra Archer, whose BBL performances ensured that they can be a part of the IPL.

Although only 2 overseas players can be there in a squad and the league collides with a lot of international games, the league has still managed to attract the likes of Rashid Khan, Dwayne Bravo, Brendon McCullum, and Jason Roy.

There is no draft or auction in the BBL and there is a window in which teams can rope in players.

The league format is very simple with 8 teams and the top 4 qualify for the semi-finals. Adelaide Strikers won it the last time around and Hobart Hurricanes were 2nd best. Perth Scorchers have won it thrice in 8 editions. The next edition will start in a month's time.

#1 Indian Premier League

Chennai Super Kings crowned as champions
Chennai Super Kings crowned as champions

Unarguably the best T20 league in the world, IPL attracts fans and players from all over the world. It is a tournament that gives youngsters, especially Indians, to express themselves and to enhance their reputation. Current Team India players like Yuzvendra Chahal, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, and Jasprit Bumrah came through the IPL.

It is a festival for Indian fans and lasts for 2 months. Last season, it was a returning Chennai Super Kings that won the title for the 3rd time, who are now tied with Mumbai Indians for most titles won. Sunrisers Hyderabad were the runners-up last time around. The league also has a mid-season transfer window, which is the first of its kind in cricket.

Overseas stars from every country play in the league and a few of the biggest stars include AB de Villiers, Sunil Narine, and Kane Williamson. The league format is the same as the PSL and CPL.

The next season will begin in March and the auction will be held in mid-December. Franchises have already released players and traded a few before the auction. The buzz for IPL 2019 has already begun and it will not stop for the next few months.

Your Comments

Latest News

Team Rankings

Player Rankings