Meet the Purple Cap winners in IPL history

The Purple Cap is given to the highest wicket-taker of the tournament. Over the years, many bowlers have won the purple cap in the Indian Premier League. Let’s have a look:

Sohail Tanvir - 2008

The inaugural season of IPL saw Sohail Tanvir adorn the first 'purple cap' while playing for Rajasthan Royals. The Pakistani cricketer grabbed 22 wickets from 11 matches that season.

RP Singh - 2009

The left-handed pace bowler was a part of the Deccan Chargers contingent when he won the Purple Cap for taking 23 wickets in 16 matches. Though the team finished fourth on the table, Singh won the purple cap at the end of the tournament for his spectacular performance.

Pragyan Ojha - 2010

A left-arm orthodox spinner, Pragyan Ojha won the purple cap after bagging 21 wickets in 16 matches. He was a team member of the Deccan Chargers that year.

Lasith Malinga - 2011

The Mumbai Indian bowler proudly graced the Purple Cap after flogging 28 wickets in 16 matches in the duration of the 2011 tournament.

Morne Morkel - 2012

The South African cricketer became the highest wicket-taker in the 2012 edition of the cash-rich league. Morkel won the Purple Cap while playing for Delhi Capitals, scalping 25 wickets in 16 matches.

Dwayne Bravo - 2013

The all-rounder won the Purple Cap when he was part of Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2013. Bravo grabbed a total of 32 wickets in 18 matches.

Mohit Sharma -2014

Another CSK bowler, Mohit Sharma ran away with the Purple Cap in 2014. The fast bowler bagged 23 wickets in the 16 matches that year.

Dwayne Bravo - 2015

The man from West Indies got the Purple Cap again in 2015 for taking 26 wickets in 16 matches.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar - 2016

The swing bowler from Sunrisers Hyderabad was the leading wicket-taker in the 2016 edition. Kumar grabbed a total of 23 wickets in 17 matches to win the Purple Cap.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar - 2017

For the second year in a row, Bhuvi won the Purple Cap as part of Sunrisers Hyderabad. Kumar mowed down 26 wickets in 14 matches in the season.

Andrew Tye - 2018

The Australian was part of Kings XI Punjab when he won the Purple Cap in the tournament. He took the maximum number of wickets with his excellent bowling skills, reaching a mark of 24 wickets in 14 matches.

Imran Tahir - 2019

The South African spinner became the highest wicket-taker in the 2019 edition of the most popular league. Tahir played for Chennai Super Kings when he scalped 26 wickets in 17 matches to take the Purple Cap.

Kagiso Rabada - 2020

Another South African, Kagiso Rabada, won the purple cap in 2020 while playing for the Delhi Capitals. Rabada grabbed 30 wickets in the 17 matches last year.


Meet the Purple Cap winners in IPL history